PDA

View Full Version : Walking Sticks

Scorp
08-12-2011, 07:21 AM
Hi Folks,

I've always been interested in walking sticks, hiking sticks, and canes. I've finally had some time to make a few. What makes them more special is the sticks come from one of many of our maple trees.

I've been carving with my deceased grandfather's pocket/fishing knife and it's pretty cool using that. I have a another pocket knife that I use for a different type of grasp in the stripping of the bark which gives it a different flare.

I'm not an expert at this, but I've made 4 so far and try to do something different with each one, and each has their own different characteristic and color.

Neighbors tell me that I should sell them at yard sales and/or flea markets. I just laugh and say nah who would buy these? They've given me the nickname Gepetto LOL...

I also am trying my hand at carving them. I recently purchased carving tools and am trying to go that route just for the heck of it. I'm not looking to make any type of profit from this and honestly wouldn't want to part with any of them.

Carving is difficult and I plan on learning a lot more about it whenever I'm able to dedicate a lot more time to it. That's something you need many years of experience to do. Some of the carving work I've researched is phenomenal. I have a whole new respect for folks who carve and make amazing things out of wood or any type of material(s). What a gift!

Best,
-Scorp-

Jess
08-12-2011, 07:32 AM
Hi Folks,

I've always been interested in walking sticks, hiking sticks, and canes. I've finally had some time to make a few. What makes them more special is the sticks come from one of many of our maple trees.

I've been carving with my deceased grandfather's pocket/fishing knife and it's pretty cool using that. I have a another pocket knife that I use for a different type of grasp in the stripping of the bark which gives it a different flare.