PDA

View Full Version : Talk to me about hair.

SecretAgentMa'am
10-07-2011, 03:19 PM
As a bit of background, I'm 35, currently unemployed (probably for quite a while in this economy) and a full time student. I am looking for work, but since I'm in school the places I'm applying are generally retail/serving/similar part time jobs. Also, I live in Portland, OR where lawyers and doctors have facial piercings and extensive tattoos.

So, since I'm an unemployed college student, I'm thinking now is the best possible time to do something drastic with my hair. Previously, the most extreme thing I've done was go from my natural light brown to fire engine red. My hair is currently waist-length, colored dark auburn with natural henna, and naturally curly. I'm thinking I want to cut off about half the length and get purple highlights. I was thinking extensions since I've spent years believing that using chemical dyes over henna will melt your hair or make it fall out, but that's possibly not true? Does anyone have experience? Any suggestions? Think I should go with a different color? Expressions of horror that I'd consider such a thing at my age? Extensions seem safer, but also a lot more expensive. I am on a budget. Help me decide what to do!

princessbelle
10-07-2011, 03:28 PM
Your hair sounds beautiful just like it is. But, i understand wanting a change. Quite honestly i'm a little puzzled and perhaps too old to understand why you would want to cut it and then get extensions? Maybe i just don't get the concept. I'm 48 so i'm not exactly caught up on all the things out there.

I do like the idea of cutting it a little with purple highlights. It sounds great. Also, know there are professional hair folks on this site that can help you with some of your questions. I'm sure they will step forward.

From my perspective...you are a college student, what better time to go as crazy or modern as you want.

Good luck and let us know what you do.....we want pictures!!! ;)